Spider-Man: Blue

Spider-Man: Blue
Author: Jeff Loeb
Illustration: Tim Sale
Original Release: 2002

Digital Release: 2012
Publisher: Marvel
Purchased on Kindle

The story begins with Spider-Man placing roses on a bridge on Valentine’s Day. He is speaking into a voice recorder, narrating his side of the story of when he first met a girl who changed his life forever. Throughout the story, he will speak to this woman as if she were next to him, explaining this epic, sorrowful story. Coincidentally, I began reading this story on Valentine’s Day. I savored it taking my time to enjoy the artwork and storyline.

IMG_4361

If Nicholas Sparks, the author of: “The Notebook,” “The Choice,” “A Walk to Remember,” “Safe Haven”… I better stop there (my wife is so crushing on me right now) were to write a graphic novel, I believe that it would be really similar to “Spider-Man: Blue.” This is a book about a man, Peter (with radioactive spider powers), who falls in love with the highly intelligent girl, Gwen Stacy, who is in his science class. He soon finds out that she has eyes for him and the two become a couple who feel on top of the world. Unfortunately, the world is a little too high, and Gwen has a tragic death which rips Peter’s heart right out of him. It is a story of one overcoming self doubt, getting the girl, making the world a little safer, and only to have it all come crashing down on you, which is to be expected for Spider-Man. How much will Peter have to endure before he can finally have his happy ending? Will he hit the jackpot after meeting his Aunt’s friend’s niece, Mary Jane Watson? Or will the Green Goblin, the Lizard, the Vulture, and the mysterious man in the shadows destroy his chances of finding joy?

This comic was very fun to read. It reminded me why I am a fan of Spider-Man. His punchlines hit the mark, just as his punches did. The villains he faces are a good match for him and are just as unique as him. His love and respect for his Aunt May and late Uncle Ben has always been great to see and read. I personally have related to this character throughout the years. Like Peter, I hit the jackpot with who I would end up spending the rest of my life with.

The man who thinks he is what all women want, Flash Thompson, gets all bent out of shape from seeing Peter getting Mary Jane’s and Gwen’s attention. It was great to see. Even the two girls get a little possessive over Peter when he is “sick” (injured from falling on a snowy roof as Spider-Man) and laying in his bed. There is a scene where each of the girls make small jabs at each other while Peter lies there confused by all of the sudden attention: “This never happened when I was ‘Peter Parker, Bookworm,’” he recalled. This love story has all of the drama that you would want. It also has plenty of web-slinging action.

The ending was as emotional as I thought it was going to be. However, it did end much differently than I thought it would. I don’t want to spoil it, but there isn’t some grand climactic battle where Spidey gets his mask torn or someone close to him ends up getting rescued. It was more of a heart-rending moment with Peter sitting all alone in the dark. Long gone are those innocent bright college days and a certain blonde haired woman.

The Pros: It is called “Spider-Man: Blue” for a reason, but the blue thought bubbles and the occasional all-blue scenes remind the reader that Spider-Man/Peter Parker is in mourning. I appreciated this look, as it added to the seriousness of the book.

The Cons: The illustrations for the young, college-aged Harry Osborn made him appear like he was an old man. I guess that’s what happens when your dad is a psychotic murderer.

Roses are red, and Spidey is blue.

Jer gives it 5/5.

2 thoughts on “Spider-Man: Blue

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    Thank you for the review! I’ve been really intrigued by this graphic novel but have had trouble tracking down a copy of it for myself. You have given me a wonderful feel for it…although, to be fair, now i want to read it even more. However, that’s a problem I’ll happily manage!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

