Free Comic Book Day 2017

Some people get excited about May the Fourth and/or Cinco de Mayo, but Free Comic Book Day (the first Saturday in May) is the spring event that I look forward to the most. We (my wife and kids) had fun going to our local comic book store this morning for this special day. I made sure to dress each of the kids in the appropriate clothing for such an occasion. My daughter wore her “Girls Can Save The World” shirt. Her stylish shirt has the Wonder Woman, Batgirl, and Supergirl symbols that complimented her Wonder Woman necklace.

IMG_4621.JPG
TITANS GO!

My oldest boy wore his Sonic the Hedgehog shirt while the younger two wore Spider-Man and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. My wife wore her Link (Legend of Zelda) shirt and I wore Batman. The staff at the comic book store loved our wardrobe so much that they let us all get three free comic books.

IMG_4625.JPG
Our loot (minus three other Loud House comics)!

The local artists took some requests from the kids and sketched some wonderful pieces of art. One of the artists, Rachel Everett, was sharing info about her graphic novel “13 Light-Years Away.” Check it out on Kickstarter.

IMG_4626.JPG
Drawings for the kids.

Free Comic Book Day really is a beautiful thing. It helps promote local businesses and gets readers of every age engaged in a new book. It also helps the local talent promote their creations. I’m already looking forward to next year. Thanks for reading.

Jer

5 thoughts on “Free Comic Book Day 2017

  1. Nancy says:

    I loved your whole family involvement- including pictures! My library sponsored a Free Comic Book Day, so I was happy to have a sneak peek at all the titles available this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

